Frey Freyday – Goodbyes

(Frey Freyday is simply a bunch of inspirational, motivational and other quotes meant to make you think, reflect, smile, even laugh a bit. Hopefully helpful, useful stuff….)

Goodbye-farewell (a conventional expression used at parting)

Saying goodbye doesn’t mean anything. It’s the time we spent together that matters, not how we left it. Trey Parker

It’s time to say goodbye, but I think goodbyes are sad and I’d much rather say hello. Hello to a new adventure. Ernie Harwell

I have to say goodbye to things in order to take on bigger things that I’ve always wanted to do. Unknown

You and I will meet again, When we’re least expecting it, One day in some far off place, I will recognize your face, I won’t say goodbye my friend, For you and I will meet again. Tom Petty

WORD TO LIVE BY:

Good bye –

  1. Sometimes you need to say goodbye to something in order to grow, move on, heal or be happy.

Put simply, sometimes we hold on to memories, anger, sadness, hurt, and other negative things too long and we can’t really move on until we say goodbye to the feelings or experience. Sometimes we get complacent or too comfortable and we can’t grow unless we say goodbye to our comfort zone. Sometimes we need to say goodbye to part of our lives, even part of ourselves to grow as a person.

  1. Eventually we all have to say goodbye to someone we love. What will you do or say in the meantime?

If your parents or an older relative is still around, are there things that you’d really like to ask them? My parents both died rather suddenly and there were many questions that I wanted to ask them. I think they would have enjoyed answering them, and I know I would have gained a lot of wisdom and perspective.

What if you wrote someone or sat down and told them how you feel before it was too late?

What if you asked them questions about their lives and their perspectives now when you have the chance?

Maybe you have a loved one who inspired you and you should tell them! Maybe you should go and take them out and do that thing now while you both can.

Here are some possible questions to ask:

  • What did they learn when they were young in adolescence?
  • Where were they when JFK got shot? What did they think?
  • How did their mother or father influence them?
  • What was their of your biggest challenges in life?
  • How did their overcome difficult times in their life?
  • What did they learn from their parents?
  • What did their grandparents want them to carry on?
  • What was one of their biggest life lessons?
  • What do your loved ones want you to know after they’re gone?
  • What do they want your brothers or sisters to know after they’re gone?
  • What values do they want to teach?
  • What do they want you to remember when the times are dark?

Honor the people in your life. There are lots of ways to honor someone. If they’re still with you, sometimes it can be as simple as calling them, taking them out to lunch, sitting them down, looking them directly in the eye and saying.

Frey Freyday was actually born out of something I created called “Words To Live By” (WTLB). Going forward, I will now not only share the quotes, as you may be used to receiving, but also a related (WTLB). In 1999, when we had our first daughter, I was contemplating how I would raise my new beautiful child, and I was thinking about how I can best educate her and my other children about values, morals, and other key thoughts about life. School offers education. Religion offers some values and morals. Parents offer most of it, sometimes intentionally, sometimes accidentally.

So I created a (WTLB) book, like a dictionary, which lists things like honesty, love, persistence, etc. with a definition that I created, with my wife’s input. I then turned it into a workbook with one word per page and space below for notes. For years we would discuss with my two daughters and they would draw pictures and make notes in the blank space. I may share some of those images with you. As they got older, they were less inclined to draw and more open to quotes and references from adults, hence where Frey Freyday came from….

 

BONUS:

http://brendonburchard.tumblr.com/post/98560312858/interview-your-loved-ones-before-theyre-gone

If you have loved ones who you’ve lost or you have people in your life right now who you just admire greatly, who are helping you out, who are influencing you in positive ways, how do you honor people?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

