Frey Freyday – Music

(Frey Freyday is simply a bunch of inspirational, motivational and other quotes meant to make you think, reflect, smile, even laugh a bit. Hopefully helpful, useful stuff….)

Music-[myoo-zik]- an art of sound in time that expresses ideas and emotions in significant forms through the elements of rhythm, melody, harmony, and color.

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain. Bob Marley

Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent. Victor Hugo

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. Plato

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. Maya Angelou

I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music. Billy Joel

Music has charms to soothe a savage breast. spoken by Almeria in Act I, Scene 1

WORD TO LIVE BY:

Music – Music is a tool to change our moods, change our state of mind, it can express and communicate, it can take us back, or help us move forward.

Music can be used to relax us, inspire us, help us meditate, help us work, help create romance, help us exercise.

If we’re having a bad day, we can put on a few good songs and our mood changes quickly.

Songs can connect people from different races, creeds and backgrounds. It helps us remember the common wants, needs and nature of all people.

Certain types of music can help improve our minds as we grow. Other types can increase our heart rates, yet others can help it slow.

Music helps us tell a story. We can relate, communicate and educate.

Music can help us concentrate, or it can distract us. It creates the mood. Music can get us up and moving. Music changes our state.

Frey Freyday was actually born out of something I created called “Words To Live By” (WTLB). Going forward, I will now not only share the quotes, as you may be used to receiving, but also a related (WTLB). In 1999, when we had our first daughter, I was contemplating how I would raise my new beautiful child, and I was thinking about how I can best educate her and my other children about values, morals, and other key thoughts about life. School offers education. Religion offers some values and morals. Parents offer most of it, sometimes intentionally, sometimes accidentally.

So I created a (WTLB) book, like a dictionary, which lists things like honesty, love, persistence, etc. with a definition that I created, with my wife’s input. I then turned it into a workbook with one word per page and space below for notes. For years we would discuss with my two daughters and they would draw pictures and make notes in the blank space. I may share some of those images with you. As they got older, they were less inclined to draw and more open to quotes and references from adults, hence where Frey Freyday came from….

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

