Frey Freyday – Raise Your Standards

(Frey Freyday is simply a bunch of inspirational, motivational and other quotes meant to make you think, reflect, smile, even laugh a bit. Hopefully helpful, useful stuff….)

STANDARDS – [ˈstandərd]- a level of quality or attainment:

The quality of a leader is reflected in the standards they set for themselves. Ray Kroc

Our heritage and ideals, our code and standards – the things we live by and teach our children – are preserved or diminished by how freely we exchange ideas and feelings. Walt Disney

Let’s not be afraid to speak the common sense truth: you can’t have high standards without good discipline. William Hague

Any time you sincerely want to make a change, the first thing you must do is to raise your standards. Tony Robbins

You have competition every day because you set such high standards for yourself that you have to go out every day and live up to that. Michael Jordan

Set high standards and few limitations for yourself. Anthony J. D’Angelo

Let us be about setting high standards for life, love, creativity, and wisdom. If our expectations in these areas are low, we are not likely to experience wellness. Setting high standards makes every day and every decade worth looking forward to. Greg Anderson

WORDS TO LIVE BY:

RAISE YOUR STANDARDS-

We all become a little complacent one time or another. Sometimes we get satisfied where we are. Maybe improving seems like a little too much pain and staying where we are now is comfortable.

Once in a while we may even drift back a bit. I believe that either you’re growing/improving or you’re wilting/regressing.

We need to first be aware of ourselves – our current role, position in life, actions, and be realistic and honest. We need to also have some sort of goal, vision, or something to work towards….

All of this falls under the category of ‘what are our standards’? For a homeless person, they may have low standards of what is acceptable for a good night’s rest than what we do. We may have a different standard for relationships, health, wealth than our friends and co-workers.

From time to time, I think it is necessary to raise our own standards in order that we can change and improve. In other words, if you want to make a change, the first thing you need to do is to raise your standards.

When I look at my own struggles and challenges through the years (being downsized, loss of my parents, unemployment, changing jobs), and my own growth, I believe that the most important thing was changing what I demanded of myself. I wrote down all the things I would no longer accept in my life, all the things I would no longer tolerate, and all the things that I aspired to becoming.

Raise your standards, change your life.

Frey Freyday was actually born out of something I created called “Words To Live By” (WTLB). Going forward, I will now not only share the quotes, as you may be used to receiving, but also a related (WTLB). In 1999, when we had our first daughter, I was contemplating how I would raise my new beautiful child, and I was thinking about how I can best educate her and my other children about values, morals, and other key thoughts about life. School offers education. Religion offers some values and morals. Parents offer most of it, sometimes intentionally, sometimes accidentally.

So I created a (WTLB) book, like a dictionary, which lists things like honesty, love, persistence, etc. with a definition that I created, with my wife’s input. I then turned it into a workbook with one word per page and space below for notes. For years we would discuss with my two daughters and they would draw pictures and make notes in the blank space. I may share some of those images with you. As they got older, they were less inclined to draw and more open to quotes and references from adults, hence where Frey Freyday came from….

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

