Frey Freyday – Apathy

(Frey Freyday is simply a bunch of inspirational, motivational and other quotes meant to make you think, reflect, smile, even laugh a bit. Hopefully helpful, useful stuff..)

The tyranny of a prince in an oligarchy is not so dangerous to the public welfare as the apathy of a citizen in a democracy. Charles de Montesquieu

Apathy can be overcome by enthusiasm, and enthusiasm can only be aroused by two things: first, an ideal, with takes the imagination by storm, and second, a definite intelligible plan for carrying that ideal into practice. Arnold J. Toynbee

Voting is completely important. People in America think democracy is a given. I think of it as an ecosystem, and what gets in the way of it is politicians and apathy. Henry Rollins

We may have found a cure for most evils; but we have found no remedy for the worst of them all, the apathy of human beings. Helen Keller

I have a very strong feeling that the opposite of love is not hate – it’s apathy. It’s not giving a damn. Leo Buscaglia

Willpower is the key to success. Successful people strive no matter what they feel by applying their will and focus to overcome apathy, doubt or fear. Dan Millman

WORD TO (NOT) LIVE BY:

Apathy – [ap-uh-thee] lack of interest in or concern for things that others find moving or exciting. absence or suppression of passion, emotion, or excitement.

Walter O’Brien, the inspiration and real life “Scorpion” and genius with an IQ of 197 stated that the greatest thing he dislikes in this world is apathy.

All of us, myself included, suffer from apathy. We learn great things, we know how to do things, we read books, listen to others, and gain all of these wonderful ideas ….and then sometimes just sit there and do nothing.

So many people, again including me, can make our own lives better. We can make other people’s lives better.

We can love more, we can simply live more. We can enjoy the moment, treat our bodies better, …do all sorts of things.

Sometimes I wonder why more of us don’t get involved in local organizations, elections and communities.

(and by the way, this isn’t a personal shaming/guilt fest. We aren’t here to say “I should of and I could of”)

I think if we’re simply aware of apathy in general, and then if we can be aware of apathy when it appears in our personal and business lives, we can make great strides.

Apathy leads to the regret of not trying, not loving, not living. I think its fine to try and fail but to not try and regret is often sad. Often this is from apathy.

What is your antidote for apathy?

I looked up the antonyms for apathy and I found fervor and ardor. Basically great warmth and earnestness of feeling, intense devotion, eagerness, or enthusiasm; zeal, passion.

We all know someone that has enthusiasm, passion, or as my father used to say, “vim and vigor” in almost everything that they do.

Each of us has had this ‘zeal’ or passion in at least a few aspects of our lives.

What if we lived in that state most of the time? What if we attempted to approach each project or idea with enthusiasm, passion and, yes, fervor? There might be a little less apathy.

Frey Freyday was actually born out of something I created called “Words To Live By” (WTLB). Going forward, I will now not only share the quotes, as you may be used to receiving, but also a related (WTLB). In 1999, when we had our first daughter, I was contemplating how I would raise my new beautiful child, and I was thinking about how I can best educate her and my other children about values, morals, and other key thoughts about life. School offers education. Religion offers some values and morals. Parents offer most of it, sometimes intentionally, sometimes accidentally.
So I created a (WTLB) book, like a dictionary, which lists things like honesty, love, persistence, etc. with a definition that I created, with my wife’s input. I then turned it into a workbook with one word per page and space below for notes. For years we would discuss with my two daughters and they would draw pictures and make notes in the blank space. I may share some of those images with you. As they got older, they were less inclined to draw and more open to quotes and references from adults, hence where Frey Freyday came from..

 

BONUS-TED TALK

http://www.ted.com/talks/dave_meslin_the_antidote_to_apathy

Leave a Reply

