Dogs of War and Paws & Stripes

Are you a dog lover?
Do you know someone that was in combat?

Here’s a cool show starting on A & E

 

http://www.aetv.com/dogs-of-war

service dogs

Resources

http://www.aetv.com/dogs-of-war/exclusives/resources

Paws and Stripes, the shelter they work with at Animal Humane New Mexico, and lots more.

What is Paws and Stripes?

Paws and Stripes was founded in 2010 by Jim and Lindsey Stanek after Jim was injured during his third deployment to Iraq. During the nine months he spent at Brook Army Medical Center in San Antonio, Lindsey noticed how therapy dogs at the hospital eased the effects of his disabilities.

Their mission now is to assist U.S. military veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and traumatic brain injury (TBI), as well as local shelter dogs, by providing integrative service dog training and mental health support to veterans and their families.

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Dogs of War and Paws & Stripes

  1. Shilo Compton November 12, 2014 at 7:20 AM Reply

    Fell on love with the idea of getting vets therapy dogs. I would love to help with each and every step of the process. I live in Lawton, OK. I have a background with working dogs in the Marines and have had many types of dogs in the last 20 years. I believe the best thing you can give to someone is your time.

    • Jim November 12, 2014 at 3:20 PM Reply

      Thanks for your email. I agree. I hope that my blog can help people. A Veteran did write in for help, maybe someone can help.
      Here is another site or two to check out tdi-dog.org and http://www.pawsandstripes.org/home.html
      Reach out to them. Maybe they can work with you and you can help someone.

  2. Roger Thestrup November 12, 2014 at 7:35 AM Reply

    To whom it may concern;
    I’m a COMBAT VETERAN, of the Vietnam war. I feel I could be helped greatly with the help of a service dog, for my PTSD. I had a dog for 15 years, a non service, and it helped me face my inner demons years back, now that I look back. And after my dog passed, I have been treated with Meds., and therapy since, about 20 years now. I’d get any dog cause I know now that dog is great for PTSD, anytime I’m with someone’s dog I’ve noticed how much they relieve my anxieties or panicky feelings. Where I live now, I can’t have a dog, unless it is a service dog. But I can’t afford a serviced trained dog on my disability from the Army 100%. For PTSD.

    Thank You for any help you could afford me on this issue.

    Roger Thestrup

    • Jim November 12, 2014 at 3:18 PM Reply

      Thanks for your comment. Let me look into that. Here is another site or two to check out tdi-dog.org and http://www.pawsandstripes.org/home.html
      Reach out to them. Maybe they can help you. I will look around too.

    • Jim November 18, 2014 at 2:31 PM Reply

      Roger. Here is an idea….Paws and Stripes has a good program —it requires you can participate in all of their classes and curriculum in NM. If possible, apply on the website:www.pawsandstripes.org. There is no charge unless you can afford to assist but there is a waiting list. If NM is not possible, check out the resources page on the site for list of service dog orgs in nationally. The FAQ page also has info on working with a trainer independently so you have quite a few options.
      Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

