HOW TO SET AND ACHIEVE GOALS

Goals Goals, Goals, Goals

I thought this was a great article “as-is” and wanted to share – it is from Michael Port http://www.michaelport.com/

——

These pillars are essential to success in any business, but especially important if you’re building your business on your own. They are:

1.      BUSINESS MODEL
2.      PLANNING, PROJECTS & SYSTEMS
3.      MARKETING
4.      MINDSET

In today’s lesson I’m going to give you specific exercises that will help determine your financial future. But first, I think it’s worthwhile to know why I created The Alliance – not because I want to sell it to you; but rather to start a conversation about what it really takes to learn what you need to know, AND build something remarkable (and profitable) with that knowledge.

I’ve been serving as an author, speaker, and mentor for service business owners for the better part of a decade and I’ve always been a bit skeptical of my industry. Over the past few years, I think it’s gone even farther off the tracks with inexperienced coaches offering mentoring programs, over-the-top hyped up events and too many silly and half-baked “3-easy-steps” type of advice.

I know that service professionals are in need of a lot more than a weekend event or a teleseminar lasting a few weeks. It’s great to get energized but it shatters your confidence when you come home and all the hype fades away.

Don’t get me wrong, inspiration and passion play a huge role in creating the life of your dreams. After all, I am “the guy to call when you’re tired of thinking small.” In fact, I wrote the book on it: The Think Big Manifesto.

But you also need real, concrete, actionable plans to serve as a vehicle for your passion if you want to succeed. I’ve taught thousands, tens of thousands actually, how to get more clients and the truth is; there is an unending source of tactical information out there but only those who are truly serious and committed to a long-term plan create remarkable (AKA: real marketable) businesses.

I wanted to do something about it. It’s one thing to sit around being annoyed by what I saw as the lack of real business-building programs but another to do something about it.

Anyone can tear something down; building something better in its place takes courage and commitment. If I was really going to be true to what I teach, I needed to create the solution.

I believe that I’ve done it in The Alliance. If you are serious, I mean very serious about creating the business and life that you really want then consider applying. It’s not for everyone. It’ll be hard work and I’ll challenge you. But it may be for you. If it is, that means I’m meant to serve you and I’ll do my best work with you.

In The Alliance, we always start with the most important habit an entrepreneur must develop: GOAL SETTING and the ACHIEVEMENT of those goals. It’s a basic concept but fundamental to success. I suggest you start with the same now.

Of course, the future is uncertain. You cannot always predict a result but when you set goals you:

Engage the power of a decision. Your Ferrari will go nowhere until you decide to shift into first gear.

  • Begin      to filter out the noise. When you know what you want, you can begin to      ignore the things that don’t support the achievement of your goals.
  • Conscious      and subconscious mind begin to work in unison to achieve your specified      objectives.
  • Are      able to model others who have achieved what you want. Only by being clear      about what you want can you locate the best mentors to model what they do.      It’s one of the fastest ways to succeed.

Great leaders always deal with reality. If you know where you are then you can map out where you want to go and how you will get there. Start with the two most important questions:

What’s working best in your business?

What aspects of your business are in need of the most improvement?

Now, look at how you currently spend your time by filling in the blanks to the following statements:

Over the past 12-months,             % of my time has been spent working ON the marketing, sales and growth aspects of my business.


Over the past 12-months,            % of my time has been spent working IN the business with clients.


Over the past 12-months,            % of my time has been spent on personal pursuits (friends, family, hobbies, etc.)


Over the past 12-months, on a scale of 1-10, I would rate my efficiency as a ________

 


How would you like to spend your time?

Over the next 12-months,             % of my time will be spent working ON the marketing, sales and growth aspects of my business.


Over the next 12-months,            % of my time will be spent working IN the business with clients.


Over the next 12-months,            % of my time will be spent on personal pursuits (friends, family, hobbies, etc.)


Over the next 12-months, the #1 thing I need to do consistently to be as efficient as possible is…


And, finally, how much money are you going to make over the next twelve months?

 

Over the next 12-months, I would like to earn $ ________ in gross revenue.


Over the next 12-months, I would like to keep my expenses below $ ________.


Over the next 12-months, I would like to earn $ ________ in profit from my efforts (gross revenue minus expenses).

That’s it for today. Remember to think big and embrace abundance. If you need to go back and do this exercise of thinking bigger about who you are and what you offer the world, do so now.

Know that the only true scarcity is your resistance to embracing your own true self, your hopes and dreams, your capacity to think big.

When you resist yourself you create false scarcity: I’m not enough. I’m not as good as . . . [pick a name]. It’s too hard. There’s no time. I can’t start because I don’t know how it will end. When you focus on what you are not, what you do not have, and what you do not (and often cannot) know, you focus on a self-induced scarcity.

Each of us is naturally abundant. To exist is abundant. Look inside and see the glory of who you are–more than good enough.

I’ll be back soon with a deep and inspirational message on how to get your mind right. You’ll need it so that you’re able to handle all of the success that comes from the goals you’ve set.

Keep thinking big,

Michael Port

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “HOW TO SET AND ACHIEVE GOALS

  1. mind movies matrix May 13, 2013 at 7:03 AM Reply

    whoah this blog is magnificent i like studying your articles.
    Stay up the good work! You understand, many persons are hunting round
    for this info, you can help them greatly.

  2. Marcos May 17, 2013 at 1:05 PM Reply

    I am really loving the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.

    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    • Jim May 17, 2013 at 1:30 PM Reply

      I am not technically inclined in this manner, sorry, I’m not sure.
      Thanks!

  3. How To Set And Achieve Goals June 7, 2013 at 9:01 PM Reply

    Great information you specify in your bolg.It really help others that are to set their goals and try to achieve their goals.As it is difficult to cross any barrier until he/she gets knowledge from trained and well skilled person.

Leave a Reply

