One simple action=HUGE results

Did you ever notice how one person’s actions, one event, one seemingly little thing can lead to big consequences or huge results?

Recently I saw an advertisement for a move called Cloud Atlas. I saw the commercial twice and had no idea what it was about. I looked it up on imdb.com.

The description says, “An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution.” You can also watch a trailer at this link.  http://www.imdb.com/rg/s/4/title/tt1371111/#lb-vi2166203417

I don’t know if it is a good movie or not. I am not here to recommend or criticize. However, the concept is very interesting and true.

Think of events in recent history – how the action of one or a few people affected us all – or many many of us. Certainly 9/11. Farther back we can look at JFK and Martin Luther King’s assassination. There are all kinds of events where one person made a poor choice and many others suffered in some way. All too often, the media highlights bad events.

We have many great events and actions that have resulted in good things. Think about our Founding Fathers. Rosa Parks. Think about someone at your school or workplace that stood up for someone else. Even if you were just an observer you felt it, right?

Think about your own life. I know that I had a psychology teacher in high school that made one nice comment about me and it still helps me move ahead.

Likewise, in college a professor required us to submit journals for a project and he made comments. One of his comments still resonates in my mind today, it was encouraging, positive and really seemed to ring true with me, and it inspires me.

My parents are gone now but things they did or said still mean so much to me in good ways. My grandfather didn’t always have good things to say about people and he struggled in his own life but I still recall one uplifting comment he made to me when I was 14. I still recall the sunny, warm spring day. I was  working in the yard with a shovel and he gave me a compliment that I’ll never forget.

My daughters have said things or done things for my wife and I and they just touch your heart and keep you going. I’ve had some great bosses/managers who I refer to as mentors. Their simple actions, beliefs, and support of me have meant the world in my life and career.

There was a time many years ago when I felt like a loser. I felt like a goof, a failure, and felt like I had no identity or value in life. Someone that I knew only for a short time must have sensed it and said a few sentences to me. I sincerely think that had that not been said to me then and there, I would have gone into alcohol and drugs and made some poor choices.

There are many ‘successful’ people in the world who credit a mentor or one event to their success. There are countless inspiring stories how one person’s kindness or action transformed a life, and set multiple things in motion.

A drop in the ocean creates ripples around the world. One rain drop begins huge waterfalls. The journey of a 1000 miles begins with one step.

Let’s face it, in our own lives, it isn’t often about the big steps, is it? Life is often about those daily actions, steps, thoughts. Our persistent, consistent actions each day can lead to tremendous results. We write a book one page at a time.

We lose weight/build muscle/build a business/strengthen a relationship/chase a dream one small action at a time. The vision can be big, sure. And yes, sometimes we’ll have huge actions or jumps that leap us forward.

Do you recall the last time you did one small action that led to huge results?

I look back to when I was struggling in business and looking for an easy way to success. I looked to others, books, CDs, whatever. I finally admitted to myself that I was in denial and I just needed to go do it. I went out and “did it” day after day. It wasn’t always fun but all of a sudden I was experiencing success.

Then, guess what, better things came my way. I wasn’t even looking for another opportunity but a better one came to me. One person believed in me, took a risk on me and we both succeeded together.

What one thing can you do today to move towards your big vision?

What one thing can you do to help others?

What simple action or word of kindness can we start that will create waves of great results over time?

We come this way but once. 

We can either tiptoe through life and hope that we get to death without being too badly bruised,

or we can live a full, complete life achieving our goals and realizing our wildest dreams.

– Bob Proctor

Thanks for your actions. Thanks for reading.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

